homepage 'de Luikerwaal' Aesop's Fables
part 1



The Junior Lecturers Series was produced by W. Butcher & Sons, London (1870-1906) under the trade name of Primus. The slides were sold as a set of eight in a cardboard box. The prize of each set was initially about two shillings but at the end of World War I the price had more than doubled. Size of the slides: 8,2 x 8,2 cm (3 1/4" x 3 1/4").

The complete series was divided into three series, A, B and C.

Series A was described as 'comic tales and nursery stories, with reading on the slides'. Series B and C had readings printed on paper lecture notes. Longer stories required two or more chapters, always multiples of eight slides. The glasses are fitted with a protective glass and black paper binding tape. The images were either circular or square with rounded corners.

AESOP'S FABLES (1) is part 769 of the Junior Lecturers Series B (with Printed Readings).


1. The Lion and the Mouse 2. The Dove and the Crow.
3. The Wolf and the Lamb. 4. The Dog in the Manger.
5. The fighting Cocks and the Eagle. 6. The Hare and the Tortoise.
7. The Hares and the Frogs. 8. The quack Frog.


A lot of Junior Lecturers' Series were published in Germany by Hüttig A.G. Dresden as 'Hüttig's Laternbilder'.

Richard Hüttig & Sohn was established in 1887. Later, in 1897, it was incorporated as the Hüttig AG. Due to the high market saturation and competitiveness, several companies (including Hüttig) were merged into ICA in 1909.

This Primus set # 769 was sold in their Serie D as 'Aesop's Fabeln'.
  Nederlandse versie......  What's new on this site? ©1999-2016 'de Luikerwaal'
All rights reserved.
Last update: 01-11-2016.
Back to the catalogue......  Top of page......  part 2......