Homepage 'de Luikerwaal'

part 10

Just a lot of beautiful life-model sets of magic lantern slides

Go to: part 1 part 2 part 3 part 4 part 5 part 6 part 7 part 8 part 9 part 10

Coal Munk Peter

A nice set of 37 magic lantern slides after the book 'Coal Munk Peter and His Three Wishes' by Wilhelm Hauff, published by Ernest Benn, London, 1926.

Size of the slides 8,2 x 8,2 cm and the manufacturer is York and Son.

    1. Introduction
2. A charcoal burner 3. These woodcutters gamble 4. In his sollitude
5. Asked his mother 6. Made a deep bow 7. The glass man appears
8. Nothing but a squirrel 9. In the woodman's hut 10. Riding on a green bottle
11. Dashed after them 12. A giant by his side 13. He held a snake
14. He made his bow 15. Sat a wee old man 16. Peter! said the little man
17. Horses and carts! 18. A bag of money 19. Beware of the inn
20. When Peter returned 21. His old haunts 22. Peter danced
23. Gambling 24. His pocket was empty 25. Walking by his side


slide no. 26 of this set is missing
26. 'How much do you want?' 27. He was seated in a splendid carriage 28. Must have a wife
29. Came a poor man 30. Struck her a blow 31. Changed to the little glass man


slide no. 33 of this set is missing
32. A warmer heart 33. Have come to my third wish 34. You cannot fool me now
35. Smaller and smaller he grew 36. A great misery overpowered him 37. Peter went home
Wilhelm Hauff was born in Stuttgart on November 29, 1802, the second child of wealthy parents. From 1825-1826 he was a home teacher in the family of the senior officer Von Hügel, whose wife encouraged him to develop his writing talent. Hauff now began to write seriously and promptly experienced his first successes.
Even as a schoolboy, Wilhelm Hauff loved to act as a fairytale teller for his two younger sisters and their girlfriends. These were stories and fairy tales that he had read or made up himself. His sense of drama and suspense is particularly evident in his fairy tales that have remained popular to this day, and which appeared in three volumes, as Märchenalmanach, for the years 1826, 1827 and 1828 respectively. It was not until 1872 that Hauff's fairy tales were first published in Dutch. Translations of his work for adults had appeared much earlier. After 1872, new translations and adaptations of Hauff's fairy tales were published with great regularity to this day. Der kleine Muck, Zwerg Nase and Kalif Storch are particularly popular.

The story of Peter Munk takes place in the Black Forest: the poor coal burner wants to become rich, to be respected. At some point he can make three wishes. Short-sighted as he is, he naturally wishes for the wrong, materialistic things: to be able to dance well, to have as much money as the wealthy Ezekiel and to become the owner of a large glassworks. When Ezekiel loses his money gambling and the glassworks go downhill, Peter ends up as poor as before. In his desperation, he calls an eerie figure, Holländer-Michel, to his aid. He promises him wealth, on the condition that Peter gives up his own heart in exchange for one made of stone. With this he loses his capacity for normal human feelings and ruins his environment: he disowns his mother, he kills his wife in anger when she wants to feed a poor old man. The old man finally brings Peter to his senses and shows him how to get his own heart back. And so it all ends well - the repentant sinner even gets his mother and his wife back.
  Nederlandse versie......  What's new on this site?  Manual for this website.... ©1997-2022 'de Luikerwaal'
All rights reserved.
Last update: 24-12-2022.
  Top of page......